By Gabriella Steffenberg

Terri Lyne Carrington is back in full force with a new album titled The Mosaic Project: LOVE and SOUL.

Photo by Tracy Love
Photo by Tracy Love

The Boston native’s new work features a fresh blend of jazz, R&B and soul, all with her signature smooth vocals. Carrington shines on her newest project with an all-star roster of female vocalists and musicians accompanying her on her album. Guest appearances include:

  • Natalie Cole
  • Paula Cole
  • Chaka Khan
  • Lalah Hathaway
  • Oleta Adams
  • Ledisi
  • Jaguar Wright
  • Nancy Wilson

In fact, every song on the 12-piece LP but one features other talented female vocalists singing along with Carrington, not to mention Tia Fuller (saxophone), Ingrid Jensen (trumpet), Meshell Ndegoecello (bass), Linda Oh (bass), Geri Allen (keyboard), Patrice Rushen (keyboard), and Rachel Z (keyboard) are all featured in the instrumentals. Talk about talent!

Every song is a treasure and worth a listen (or 10), but a standout track features singer Ledisi in “Get To Know You.” With the sweet, smoky vocals, and the depth that both women provide, the breezy instrumentals coalesce perfectly with the strong, rich voices – it’s quite the treat.

Be sure to check out the The Mosaic Project: LOVE and SOUL once it’s released on Aug. 7, with three tracks currently available when you preorder the album on iTunes. Keep up with Carrington on her website at